2020 Vision

2020 and Strategic Advisory Council

IFPRI’s 2020 and Strategic Advisory Council provides guidance on the Institute’s 2020 Vision Initiative, housed within the Director General’s Office, as well as on strategic issues for IFPRI as a whole, such as new research initiatives and directions.

  • Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, Founder & Chairperson, Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee (BRAC), Bangladesh
  • Hon. Dr. Akin Adesina, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Nigeria
  • Mr. Tom Arnold, Concern’s Special Representative for Hunger
    Concern Worldwide, Ireland
  • Ms. Catherine Bertini, Co-chair, The Chicago Council Initiative on Global Agricultural Development, USA
  • Dr. Shenggen Fan, Director General, International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), USA (Ex-Officio)
  • Dr. Marion Guillou, Chair of the Governing Board, Agreenium, France
  • Hon. Dr. Agnes Kalibata, Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources, Rwanda
  • Dr. Sergey Kiselev, Director, Eurasian Center for Food Security, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russian Federation
  • H.E. John Agyekum Kufuor, Former President, Republic of Ghana, Ghana
  • Mr. David Malone, Rector, United Nations University, Japan
  • Mr. Peter McPherson, President, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) and Founding Co-Chair, Partnership to Cut Hunger and Poverty in Africa, USA
  • Dr. Martin Pineiro, Director, Grupo Consultores en Economia y Organizacion, Argentina
  • Dr. Prabhu Pingali, Professor and Founding Director, Tata-Cornell Agriculture and Nutrition Initiative, Cornell University, USA
  • Dr. Per Pinstrup-Andersen, H.E. Babcock Professor of Food and Nutrition Policy, Cornell University, USA
  • Dr. Hans-Joachim Preuss, Managing Director, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), Germany
  • Mr. Jaidev Shroff, Chief Executive Officer, UPL Group (United Phosphorus Limited), India
  • Ms. Kathy Spahn, President and Chief Executive Officer, Helen Keller International, USA
  • Dr. M. S. Swaminathan, Emeritus Chairman and Chief Mentor, M. S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, India
  • Mr. Stephan Tanda, Executive Managing Board Director, Royal DSM N.V., The Netherlands
  • Prof. Joachim von Braun, Director, Department of Economic and Technological Change, Center for Development Research (ZEF), Germany
  • Dr. Emorn Wasantwisut, Vice President of International Relations and Senior Advisor of the Institute of Nutrition, Mahidol University, Thailand